RSS

My Crucible

23 Jan

I originally wanted this journal to be a recording of all the anecdotes of my life. The situations that were too funny, too outlandish, too whatever that needed to be put down so I wouldn’t forget them. And it still will be. But I have also decided this journal will be about my crucible. Everyone has a journey. Every woman has, at one time or another, had a weight loss story to tell. This one is mine.

I started struggling with my weight after my son was born. In 2000 it became a noticeable problem for me. It was around that time my grandmother asked for help. She no longer felt safe to live on her own, but did not want to move out of her home. I moved in with her and started doing things to make her life easier, safer. I lost 25 pounds within a few months. Stress will do that to you.

After she died three years later, I gained back the weight plus a few extra. By the time of my wedding in 2005, I weighed 140 pounds, only two more pounds than when I was nine-months pregnant. A few years ago I began using Weight Watchers online and started using an elliptical machine 10-30 minutes a few times a week. It worked great. I lost 15 pounds in 5 months. Then the holidays hit and I “took a break.” The problem with Weight Watchers is I do not feel that I have any more sense of how much I should eat, what I should eat, or what my caloric intake should be then I did before I started. In order to know your points, you have to continue to pay each month. For a variety of reasons, that is no longer something I want to contend with.

So the first obstacle in my weight loss journey is to find out what my caloric intake should be to lose weight in a safe and healthy manner. I googled it (of course I did, isn’t that what Google is for?). I got 8,930,000 responses. EIGHT MILLION responses. I then chose a few from the first page.

CalorieCount.com said I should consume 1,200 calories a day to reach my goal weight of 130 pounds (I am trying to be reasonable in my goal setting) by December 2014. FreeDieting.com said I should consume 1,448 calories/day, but increase to 1,738 on two days to “trick my body.” Calculator.net had a range, 994/day to lose 2 lbs/week or 1,494/day to lose 1 lb/week. HealthyWeightForum.com gave me a week by week schedule starting at 1,514 calories/day and decreasing by week until I was eating about 1,194/week as I neared by goal weight. Webmd took a different approach stating I should consume 996 net calories/day which equates to 1,246 calories/day while burning 250 calories/day via exercise while also drinking 64 ounces of water/day.

In summary I should be eating between 994 and 1,514 calories per day in order to lose approximately 1-2 pounds per week.

Well, that is not confusing at all.

 

One response to “My Crucible

  1. Tracy

    January 29, 2014 at 14:37

    Great post 🙂 I’ve had similar obstacles, attempts, defeats, successes, and confusion. I also am recording it all for posterity. Keep going … ~Tracy @ http://www.OutofSugar.typepad.com